Picture
Always Make Yourself Presentable. Everyone emphasizes the importance of a first impression. However, consistent academic etiquette are also key to building a foundation of professionalism. I still recall my undergraduate years, often attending class in workout clothing. Sure, I would be exercising my mind per say. However, my attire did not reflect the type of person I was aiming to become - a serious academic.

As I entered my postbac program, I vowed to always dress to impress. Not only will I be easier to distinguish amidst my peers, my professors acknowledge my how seriously I am treating their course and my postbac program in general. Of course, the way you dress is simply one aspect of academic etiquette. The Art of Manliness recently wrote a great article on scholarly etiquette which I think anyone irregardless of gender should definitely check out.

Presence on Paper. In today's society, in-person appearance is not the only limiting presentation factor. Just like when applying to professional schools or even jobs/positions, we are subjected to presenting ourselves on 'paper.' I have listed these alternate forms of presentation below:
  • Digital Portfolio: Having this resource available allows you to document your achievements and easily share resources about yourself and your work. [Reference: My Digital Portfolio]
  • Résumé: Although this should be tailored to whatever you apply for, having a generic template available allows for easy input and submission.
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV): As an academic scholar, it is important to keep track of all your educational coursework and achievements.
  • Business Cards: Making deep connections with new people take time but supplying them with your contact information makes future collaborations easier.
  • Online Profiles: As social media (i.e. LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, etc.) becomes more culturally relevant, it is important to ensure everything published will not impede but contribute to your professional growth.
Truly consider either generating these presentation content or revising them. Not only will they allow you to better network with other people, but these resources allow others to evaluate your professionalism.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.