Picture
Update: As the first wave of midterms have come to a close, I will be posting additional entries and resources I have gathered within the past month.

Entry: Allow me to preface this post by stating that Academic Excellence should always be your top priority as a postbac and student in general. That aside, playing a role in a student organization is an enriching experience and may enhance your professional school application. Consider these key points concerning student organizations:

  1. Relevance: Do the organization's mission and goals align with your own? 
  2. Network: How will this organization expand or strengthen your connections? 
  3. Growth: Could this organization assist you in achieving your goals?
  4. Active: What role will you be able to play in the organization?

Be sure to keep your goals in mind while proactively forming a mutual relationship. As a pre-dental student, I relevantly sought out pre-dental clubs/societies. Upon partaking in organization activities, I had to opportunity to network with fellow students and professionals especially. As several in one of my chosen organizations have already gone through what I intend to undergo, I can learn from their experiences. Ultimately, you get as much as you put in.

Picture
CSUEB Students United for America's Toothfairy volunteering at UCSF Dental School's Give Kids a Smile Day 2014.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.